Take A Walk

When you come out of your teenage years how long did it take you to realize that your parents are not actually against you, but for you? It just happened to me within the last two years. I remember rolling my eyes when asked to do the chores I hated and thinking my life was crap when really I didn’t have it bad at all! If you think you have it bad , wait until you move out on your own. At one time I had no heat in the winter and only had rotten potatoes to eat. I didn’t have a perfect childhood but have finally realized that no one has.  For a 17 year old my mother did the very best she could and what she couldn’t one of my two fathers or my grandmother would do. This holiday season let us take a walk in our parent’s shoes. Imagine what it’s like to worry about your child or have them hate you for what seems like no reason. Mothers remember what it’s like to be 13 or 17 or even 21! Growing up is rough. Take a walk, understand, reflect, be patient.

Leave a comment